Note: For instructions for SecureCRT and SecureFX 7.2 and earlier, see this tip.
Backing up your configuration is a recommended best practice. When trying out a new version of SecureCRT or SecureFX, a backup allows you to revert to a “known good” setup if you make a configuration change you don't like. You can also use a backup when moving to a new machine to transfer your current configuration so you don’t waste time recreating sessions. Or maybe you just want to play it safe; almost everyone knows someone who has lost important data as a result of a computer crash.
7.3 and newer versions of SecureCRT and SecureFX include an import/export tool that makes it easier to create a backup or copy configuration settings from one machine to another.
Note: If the configuration is set up to use a personal data folder, sensitive data such as usernames, passwords, and automated logon information will not be backed up. If you would like everything to be backed up, you will need to temporarily revert back to a single configuration folder. The Personal Config Data: 3) Reverting Back to a Single Config Folder Video on the VanDyke Software YouTube Channel shows how to do this or you can contact technical support for assistance.
Note: If the configuration folder was temporarily reverted to a single folder, you can go back to using the personal data folder after following the steps above.
Here you can control cookies using the checkboxes below. Some cookies are essential for the use of our website and cannot be disabled. Others provide a convenience to the user and, if disabled, may reduce the ease of use of our site. Finally, some cookies provide anonymous analytic tracking data that help us provide the user with a richer browsing experience. You can elect to disable these cookies as well.