Changing Default Settings for New and Existing Sessions
The SecureCRT® and SecureFX®Default Session is used as the template for all new sessions. After making changes to the Default Session page in the Global Options dialog, these new settings will become the default settings for all new sessions. With SecureCRT 5.0 and later and SecureFX 3.0 and later, when applying changes to the Default Session, you will also be given the option to apply those same changes to all existing sessions.
Here are the steps you use to edit the Default Session and, if desired, apply the changes to all existing sessions.
1. Go to the Global
Options setting dialog. In the General category, choose the Default Session page,
and then click the Edit default settings button.
2. When the Session
Options - Default dialog appears, edit only the options that
you want to change in the Default Session (and optionally in all existing sessions). In the example below, the firewall
has been changed. If you click the Cancel button, all
changes will be ignored. If you click the OK button, all changes will be applied to the Default Session. Next,
a confirmation dialog will appear asking if you want to apply the changes to all existing sessions.
3. When the confirmation dialog appears, select Yes to apply the changes you made to the Default Session and to all existing sessions. Select No to apply the changes only to the Default Session and not to all existing sessions.
Note: Protocol-specific options such as Port will
only change for sessions that use the same protocol. All other options
will affect all sessions. All future new sessions will have
these default settings.